The Archaeology Awards

The annual Current Archaeology Awards celebrate the projects and publications that have made the pages of CA over the last 12 months, and the people judged to have made outstanding contributions to archaeology.

Nominations 2017

The nominees for the 2017 awards will be published in issue 322 of Current Archaeology, and voting will then open on from 1 December 2016. These awards are voted for entirely by the public – there are no panels of judges – so we encourage you to cast your vote for the projects, publications, and people who have inspired you over the last year.

Voting will stay open until 6 February 2017, and the winners will be announced on Friday 24 February as part of Current Archaeology Live! 2017. Click here to find out more about the event.

Winners 2016

Roberta Gilchrist

Archaeologist of the Year

Roberta Gilchrist receives the award for Archaeologist of the Year 2016 from Julian Richards.

Sponsored by Oxford University Press

Roberta Gilchrist is Professor of Archaeology at the University of Reading. She has pioneered social approaches to medieval archaeology, opening up new questions on gender and age and publishing important studies on medieval nunneries, hospitals, castles, and burials. Roberta has been a champion for equal opportunities, promoting women in archaeology and leading initiatives to integrate disability into the teaching of archaeological fieldwork. She was archaeologist to Norwich Cathedral and published a major study of Norwich Cathedral Close. Her monograph on the excavations at Glastonbury Abbey (1904-79) has just been published, making the results of 36 seasons of antiquarian excavations available for the first time. She is currently working with the Abbey on digital reconstructions and educational resources to make this work accessible to visitors.


Rescue Dig of the Year

Nora Bermingham and Caitriona Moore receive the award for Rescue Dig of the Year 2016 from Julian Richards.

Sponsored by Export & General

The Drumclay crannog-dwellers: revealing 1,000 years of lakeside living (CA 299). Excavations carried out on behalf of the Department of the Environment and Department for Regional Development in Northern Ireland. The rare excavation of a medieval artificial island, or crannog, in Co. Fermanagh revealed a wealth of stunning finds, from the well preserved remains of timber structures to thousands of artefacts, which are set to revolutionise our understanding of such settlements.

Berkeley Castle

Research Project of the Year

Mark Horton (right) and Emily Glass (left), with the award for Research Project of the Year 2016.

Sponsored by Oxbow Books

Recapturing Berkeley Castle: One trench, 1,500 years of English history, University of Bristol (CA 305). During more than a decade of excavations in rural Gloucestershire, the search for one of Anglo-Saxon England's greatest minsters has uncovered a remarkable swathe of archaeology spanning the Roman period to the Civil War.

Marion Dowd

Book of the Year

Marion Dowd receives her award for Book of the Year 2016 from Julian Richards at the ceremony.

Sponsored by Historic England

The Archaeology of Caves in Ireland, by Marion Dowd (CA 307). This trailblazing book draws together archaeology, history, mythology, and place-names to chart the changing roles of Irish caves from prehistory to more recent times, adopting a holistic approach that future scholars doubtless will follow. The book's broad timespan is complemented by its wide array of interpretive themes.

Further details of the all the winners, previous winners, and the awards are available at: